Safe and Dangerous Areas in Seattle

Aol Travel

1st Officer - Navigation
Aol Travel. Has Just Posted the Following:

safest-areas-to-avoid-alamy.jpg
In October 2009, Forbes named Seattle, Wash., the fourth-safest city in the United States, based on workplace fatalities, traffic-related deaths and natural disaster risk -- but what about violent crimes?

As a 11-year resident, I can honestly say that I believe Seattle is a very safe city. Like any other major city with its share of dangerous places, Seattle struggles with the challenges of violent crime. Not long ago, I went on a ride-along with the Seattle Police Department and witnessed the city's less-than-glamorous side. I visited areas of Seattle that I'd be unlikely to visit if I was not in a police cruiser.

The good news is that through June 2010, violent crimes in Seattle have decreased 13% compared to the same period one year ago. There have been decreases in homicide, rape, robbery, and aggravated assault citywide. The bad news is that property crimes have increased significantly, with an increase in vehicle theft up 42% over last year. Listed below are some safe places and some areas to avoid in Seattle.Safe Places in Seattle

There are plenty of safe areas in Seattle where you don't need to look over your shoulder constantly or worry about getting mugged. Seattle has its share of safe neighborhoods where children can confidently walk to school.

Five areas where you are least likely to become a victim of violent crime are as follows:

The area between Sandpoint Way Northeast and I-5, which includes View Ridge and parts of Ravenna, is definitely a family-friendly area. It feels safe to walk the streets by day and night in this area, and violent crime is rare here.

The Greenlake neighborhood is a relatively safe bet for walking your dog at night. There have been a few incidences of crime at the lake itself recently; however, the neighborhood overall remains a safe one.