Dismiss Notice
Hi Guest! Welcome to our forums!. We are glad you joined us. If you aren't a member already, please Sign Up! Today!

Don't worry about formal attire

Discussion in 'Carnival Cruise Lines' started by suemare3333, Aug 19, 2004.

1. suemare3333

suemare3333 Guest

Hello everyone
    Wanted to post this to ease any worriers about formal attire. We're back from the Paradise and found that hardly anyone wore a tux or evening gown. Most men were in suits and women in dressy pant suits or black dresses.
    I'm new to cruising and before I left, I was concerned about formal night. My DH wore a dark suit and I wore a black dress and shawl. We were looked dressier than most, so I worried for nothing.
    Just wanted other newbies to know that tuxedos were far and few, same with gowns.
    Don't miss out on the dining experience, the food was wonderful!!

2. Gayle V

Gayle V Guest

I do think a dark suit and a dressy black dress are fine for formal night, but I hate to see people encouraged to dress in anything less.

In July we sailed on the Victory to Canada for only a four night cruise. I had heard it said that people to tend to dress less formally on Carnival, and on short cruises in general. But I was pleasantly surprised to see that the majority, 90 percent or more, of the passengers wore at least the dark suit and dressier black dress. There were very few tuxes though.

The people who did not dress formally seemed to mostly be children, and some of their parents, and some of the younger (early twenties age) people. IMHO, in that large group of nicely dressed people, almost all in black, those underdressed folk really looked out of place.)

3. serene56

serene56 Guest

While on the VIctory we saw a guy wear those tee shirts with the tux imprinted on the front.