• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.

New Cruiser on Carribean Princess

M

Modittily

Hi everyone. I'm new to cruising and message boards. I've booked a 7 night cruise for my boyfriend and myself at the end of September. Just curious what to expect - especially weather wise since it's during Hurrican Season (cheapest tickets). Here are some questions I've had:

Is purchasing insurance a good idea?
What exactly do you have to pay for on the cruise ship? Are there any "hidden costs"???
What if there's really bad weather (ie hurricane) when the cruise is suppose to depart?
Are you reimbursed in some way if you are not able to go to port due to bad weather/waves?
Is it better/cheaper to go with the cruise tours in port or find a local tour guide?
Are there any suggestions for things to do in the ports of St. Thomas and St. Maarten for first time visitors/cruisers?
How much spending money should one plan on bringing for a week cruise?

I guess I had a lot of questions. Any information or feed back would be greatly appreciated as well as any helpful advice/critiques for this particular ship and cruise. Thanks!

S

Sea Trekker

Hi there new cruiser. First of all DON'T stress out !
Just relax and go with the flow. If there is a storm( hurricane) the ship will avoid it and maybe subsitute a different port. The cruise line will not reimbruse for any missed portions.
Yes, I would get travel insurance. Even if you are in good health, you never know what will happen. You could fall and break a leg or arm,etc. Especially if you have to fly to the departing port it is good to do. go thru your tavel agent or I like total travel insurance at www.travelguard.com.