New to HAL and I have questions

M

MEL from PA

Hello everyone.

I am new to HAL but not to cruising.
I am looking for your honest opinions regarding a HAL cruise.
Your input will help me decide if I want to book a HAL cruise, or not. ; )

Here we go:
The cruise I am interested in is the 10-night on board the Rotterdam IV, out of Philadelphia.
Ports of call are San Juan, St Maarten, Tortola, & Half Moon Cay. (I've been to these destinations before.)

Questions:
What type of atmosphere shall we expect?
My past cruises have been on Royal Carribean & Carnival. I'm 36 and my husband is 42. We are not "crazed party animals" but we do like to engage in karaoke, dancing, gambling, wine, socializing, conversations games, etc.

What type of dining room attire do HAL cruisers wear?
We like to dress more like business casual and usually shun the extravagant gowns and tuxedos. Although we do appreciate well dressed individuals, we feel the "glamour" is not needed if one is going on a carribean vacation.

Should I expect excellent cuisine in the dining room?
I have been hearing that the HAL Rotterdam is like *banquet dining*. This description concerns me.

Anything else you would like to add is greatly appreciated.

Thanks so much!
M.E.L.

J

Judi

We cruised on the Rotterdam VI for 12 days in May and then again for 10 days in October....do you think we like this ship??!!?? :grin :grin :grin

There is no way that I would consider the food "banquet" food. We found the meals to be very good on the whole, with some meals (lobster tails for one) being excellent!

As for dress, you'll see a lot of tuxedos on formal night, but you'll also see a lot of dark suits. The women by and large wear what you might call "special occasion" outfits, some gowns, some dresses, some pant suits.

Bear in mind that the longer the cruise, the older the crowd. I suspect that a 10 day cruise would draw a slightly older crowd than a 7 day would.

Good luck and let us all know what you decide!

A