Dismiss Notice
Hi Guest! Welcome to our forums!. We are glad you joined us. If you aren't a member already, please Sign Up! Today!

Question for people who cruised carnival in 2000 - 2002

Discussion in 'Carnival Cruise Lines' started by Mike Lynn, Nov 21, 2004.

1. Mike Lynn

Mike Lynn Guest

If you cruised with Carnival in 2000, 2001 and/or 2002, please tell me:

(1) the name of the Carnival ship you cruised on,
    (2) the month and year of the cruise, and
    (3) whether or not tips were automatically added to you ship and sail account.

If you cruised on Carnival more than once in this time period, please tell me about each cruise you took. You can reply to this thread or can e-mail me directly at WML3@Cornell.edu.

Let me explain why I want this info. I am a professor at the Cornell Hotel School and I need this info for a research project I am working on. Specifically, I need to know the month and year that each of Carnival's ships moved from traditional tipping to automatic service charges (aka pre-paid tipping). Different ships made this move at different times between 2000 and 2002, but Carnival will not give me the exact dates for each of its ships. If enough of you answer my questions above, then I should be able to figure out when each ship made the move.

Also, if any of you know when traditional tipping was replaced with automatic service charges on one or more Carnival ships, please share your knowledge with me.

Thanks in advance for your help, Mike Lynn

2. lainie

lainie Guest

Sensation Feb 2000 -- not automatically added on, paid them in cash the traditional way

Elation Feb 2001 -- not automatically added on, got coupons because we prepaid them

Victory Jan 2002 -- automatically added on

Hope this helps.

3. gld

gld Guest

Fantasy September 2001 - not automatically added

4. Cruzman

Cruzman Guest

Paradise, 4/30/2000, tips were in cash

Ecstasy, 9/4/2000, tips were in cash

Inspiration, 11/25/2001, tips added to Sail & Sign account