Dismiss Notice
Hi Guest! Welcome to our forums!. We are glad you joined us. If you aren't a member already, please Sign Up! Today!

Which sounds better?

Discussion in 'Caribbean Ports' started by HoustonTodd, Sep 28, 2009.

1. HoustonTodd

HoustonTodd Active Member

Two ships, same line, #2 though would be about $400-500 more all told (which is about 17% more expensive or so).

Itenary1 - Grand Cayman. Cozumel. Belize. Isla Roatan.

Itenary2 - San Juan Puerto Rico, St Thomas, St Maarten.

I've been to both Grand Cayman and Cozumel before (and loved both), but have never been to the other ports. I am interested from those who have, which sounds the better itenary to you? Are there any ports there that you would rather miss, or ones that are "don't miss" types?

I'm not a first time cruiser, but I am a relative novice still. I appreciate any input!

2. Mr. Utley

Mr. Utley Well-Known Member

I've been to all those places and I'd pick #1. The #2 itinerary is worth doing, but if you intend to do more cruising, you'll have plenty of chances, as it is the most common Eastern Carib itinerary. Of course, it always depends on what you like to do on shore. Eastern is known for beaches and shopping, Western more for exploration and snorkeling.

3. Corky

Corky Well-Known Member

I would have to know what the ships/cruise line are before I made a decision on which itinerary to book. :)

4. Mbandy

Mbandy Well-Known Member

Number one, no doubt about it.

Corky, it is Carnival Valor from Miami and Carnival Legend from Tampa.

5. Corky

Corky Well-Known Member

Thank you, Mbandy. I would pick # 1 then and save the $400-500. :)

6. Jeanie

Jeanie Well-Known Member

I would pick @ 1

7. ShipMaven

ShipMaven Forever Remembered

Adding to the comments already posted, if you enjoy beaches, swimming, snorkeling, SCUBA, etc., then #1 definitely is the better choice.

Whatever you decide, have fun!

8. Calgon1

Calgon1 Awaiting results of mental evaluation

Another vote for # 1.